Detour for Ski

今晨很冷,气温-21C。Leaf Lake 的雪场虽然开了,但状况一般。而箭头湖的状况号称是非常好。于是决定顺道去箭湖滑雪,然后回家。
It was -21c this morning. Leaf Lake finally has tracks set, but the condition was marked as Fair. Arrowhead claimed as Excellent. I decided skiing at Arrowhead and then going home.

我在11:00到达箭湖,那里有孩子的滑雪比赛。不过这并不妨碍一般滑雪者。我穿衣带帽,最后将滑雪鞋穿上,却找不到滑雪杖的手套。一定是我放在火炉边忘拿了。没办法,我必须回Algonquin去取。再将衣服鞋子换回来,很不情愿地开车离开了雪场。我还得给Tesla充电才能开回东门外的伊田园!
I was at Arrowhead around 11:00am. There was some youth skating ski competition going on, but it did not affect regular skiers. After I put my ski boots on, I couldn’t find my ski pole straps which were removed from my poles for drying. Oops, I had to back to Algonquin to get them! Reversed all preparations in the hut and drove out the park unwillingly. I had to charge my Tesla at Huntsville before I could back to Eden North(伊田园)at east of Algonquin.

既然已经开了那么远,再去一趟Home Depot 又何仿?当我将Home Depot买的东西放进车里时,突然发现滑雪杆的手套就在车里。嗨!我特意在离家前将它装到另一个袋子里的,我忘了这码事。
Since I already drove this far, I made a detour to Home depot in Huntsville before charging my battery. When I put my stuff from Home depot into the car, I found my pole straps in another bag. Oops again, I forgot that was put in the bag before I left Eden North.

但这不算坏事,我再开回到箭湖滑雪场,开始滑雪。那时已是1:00,气温-12C。雪况非常好。先滑了一圈Lumby,然后沿着箭湖继续滑。这时阳光从左后照过来,将我的影子投在右边的雪地上。影子平滑的移动着,似乎比旁边的老头滑的自在。我滑的很开心,任由思绪飞扬。突然,我发现影子到了左边!我不敢相信太阳跳到了右边!然后想起我已经沿着湖滑了一个U-型。看着影子在树林里躲闪,它似乎在笑话那个老头,他不是对自然了如指掌的吗?
But that’s good news. I drove back to Arrowhead and hit the ski trail. The snow condition was perfect, -12c at that time. I made a trip to Lumby trail then continued on Arrowhead Lake trail. The sun was shining from my left, and I could see my shadow on my right. It was not bad, the shadow moved smoothly, better than the old man beside it. I was delighted and my thought drifted away. Suddenly, I saw the shadow appeared to my left. What? the sun jumped that quick? I was surprised before I realized that I had made a U-turn around the lake. Looking at the shadow between trees on my left, it seemed hiding its laugh, and thought that the old man supposed to know the sun and the earth very well.

最后我沿着湖滑了两圈。今天一共滑了14公路,不过开车开了350公路,包括所有的无用功。Finally I made two loops around the lake without any incident. I totaled 14km classic ski today, plus 330km driving including all detours.

Author: easywave

A simple creature who darted into the world of wonder and would leave no mark in time or space except photos.

Leave a comment